At the center of the CBC TV show Republic of Doyle is the house at 28 Gower Street, St. John’s, NL. While some people are wondering if the Doyles will be forced to move, executive producer John Vatcher says they will miss Paul Follow’s hospitality. The home has been designated a municipal heritage building and is part of a small neighborhood.
The original property at 22 Gower Street was built in 1895. It was constructed by J. Whiteley, an early 19th century merchant and politician. In the 1850s, he set up an extensive fishing business in Bonne-Esperance and developed the cod trap, a long net extending from the ocean to shore. This improved the cod fishery’s productivity and yield. The property on Gower Street was Whiteley’s long-term lease and the Whiteleys remained residents for decades.
The property was purchased by William H. Whiteley in 1910. His family owned the adjoining properties. The land at 28 Gower Street was once a part of his estate. He remained there until the mid-1950s. The property has three bay windows and a large front porch. The house is situated on two levels. The front entrance is accessed via an iron staircase, which runs along the side of the house.
The house has a two-storey bay window design. The large windows add depth and dimension. The rounded windows and fascia boards enhance the façade. The main door is accented by wide mouldings. The house features a covered open porch with a steeply pitched pedimented roof and narrow columns. The entire porch has a carved eave and mouldings.
The home was leased by William H. Whiteley, a merchant, inventor, and politician. The home is named after the famous Canadian cod fisherman who developed the cod trap. This type of snagging device consists of a long net extending from the shore to the sea. This method of catching cod significantly improved the productivity of the cod fishery. The main door has wide mouldings and an open porch with a steeply pitched pedimented roof.
The exterior of this home features two-storey bay windows, which add depth and dimension. The pedimented roof and the wooden shingles add a distinctive character to the home. The main door features wide mouldings. The open porch features a pedimented roof and a tall, narrow porch with a curved pedimented roof. The main door has a moulded eave.
The front of the house is a classic Queen Anne Victorian style. The two-storey bay windows provide ample light and a unique look to the home. The original owners occupied the home for many years. The building is similar to an attached duplex with the same architectural style. In addition to the exterior, the property also features a three-storey side. The pedimented porch is a common feature of many St. John’s homes.
This home is a Victorian-style townhouse with two-storey bay windows. Stained glass windows and wooden shingles add depth and dimension to the exterior of the home. The main door is decorated with a wide moulding. The front porch is a steeply pitched pedimented roof with narrow wooden clapboard. The eaves are also moulded.
Originally a Victorian style duplex, this home was built in 1910 by J. Whiteley. The property was part of his estate until 1955. The current owner’s descendants still own the property, which dates back to 1880. The building is a great example of an historic St. John’s nl bungalow. If you’re looking for a charming, old-fashioned waterfront home, then you’ll love 28 Gower Street in St. John’s.